Tried, Tested, Transformed

In Hawaii“But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.”  2 Corinthians 3:18 (NKJV)

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:2 (NKJV)

It has now been four months since Charles went home to be with the Lord. God’s grace and mercy have been my constant companions.

For the past five years, my husband and I have had the habit of watching DVD series each evening from pastors and teachers who helped us grow in our faith. In fact, it was that daily “feeding on the Word” which helped carry us through many dark and difficult days (of which I have previously written).

We both believed (quite definitively) the next series we needed to listen to was one called “Transformed.” That particular Saturday evening was to be the first DVD in the series. In fact, we were only about six minutes into the message when my husband began to feel unwell. In an hour’s time, he was gone–quite literally transformed from this life into eternity.

Last year, about mid-year, I had sensed strongly in my spirit that big changes were in the wind. I assumed we had another move coming. At that point, I had moved twenty-eight times in thirty-five years of married life–what was one more? I had packing and un-packing pretty much down to a science. This would be no different, I figured. I was even a bit excited about the coming changes.

Of course, it is always dangerous to “assume” you understand what the Lord has in mind when He gives you a bit of insight into what He is about to do. My husband and I were tried, tested, and transformed that day–both of us in ways we never anticipated.

So, for those who have prayed for me, helped me, and walked with me through these past four months, I will never be able to thank you for all you have done. My gratitude knows no bounds.

For those who know me personally, you know at least I got one part right–I did move. I moved to Jackson, Mississippi, closer to my daughter, who is in graduate school at Belhaven University, and have taken a job with weekly travel to St. Louis, Missouri.

Even though God’s process of transformation continues, I can boldly declare these words penned in 1873 by Horatio G. Spafford:

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot,
Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Refrain:

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

But, Lord, ’tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh, trump of the angel! Oh, voice of the Lord!
Blessed hope, blessed rest of my soul!

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

Original Content: Copyright © 2014 by Susan E. Johnson
All rights reserved