Father’s Day Gifts

HannahWise words from my husband’s blog, No Grey Areas, today.

Father’s Day Gifts

Today, is Father’s Day. Another one of those special days so beloved by retailers.

I have already received the greatest Father’s Day gift I could ever receive. This gift arrived one January night in 1991. My daughter was born and, in a typical fashion, it was not during “office hours.” For some reason I have forgotten how tired I was that night. Perhaps, I was not totally calm during the entire experience either. However, I do remember seeing my beautiful daughter for the very first time, holding her, and at that moment dedicating her to the Lord.

Dedicating her to the Lord meant I had to be dedicated to being a father who served our heavenly Father with my whole heart. The wisdom of God was going to be needed. I certainly didn’t have the knowledge or wisdom required to raise our daughter in a dangerous world. I have depended much on the mercy of the Lord during these intervening years and will continue to do so for the coming years. God is always gracious and merciful!

Watching my daughter mature into a lovely, young lady with a heart and passion for the gospel is a joy to my heart. Watching her grow as an adult, making wise decisions and handling issues with maturity, is a daily pleasure to behold.

We know that when our children do well, our hearts rejoice. When our children are struggling physically, emotionally, spiritually, or in any other way, our hearts grieve.

Men, God has called us to raise our children in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. Seeking God’s Kingdom has to be our first priority. Our families are our home turf in God’s Kingdom. What good does it do to be professionally successful if our children are lost?

This is not a new question for mankind. Jesus asked us the same question – “What does it profit a man to gain the whole world and lose his soul?”

What sorrow matches the sorrow of a father and mother who lose a child to disease, to crime, or to any one of a myriad of dangers that lurk ready to pounce at any opportunity?

What joy matches the joy of a father and mother watching as their child grows into God’s calling on their lives, building their own families, and extending the legacy of faith to another generation.

Men, I am a poor shadow of our true Father. If my heart delights to see godliness, obedience, and wisdom in my child, imagine how the Heavenly Father’s Heart delights to see obedience and faith in His children. If we grieve when our children rebel and make bad decisions that have far-reaching consequences, how does our Heavenly Father respond to us when we do the same?

The first step in being a good father, is to be a good and obedient servant to the King of Kings. When we set our hearts on serving the Lord, that commitment will bring forth fruit in our families. When we rebel, that will also bring forth fruit in our families. Where we have not modeled faithfulness for our children we need to immediately repent and cry out for the mercy and wisdom of the Lord.

Let us prepare our hearts so that this Father’s Day, we purposefully thank the Lord for the incredible gift He has given us in our children.

What more could a man ask for in life than to know that his children are advancing God’s Kingdom, watching as they then raise their own children in the nurture and admonition of the Lord?

Just for the record – my daughter is the delight of my heart. There has never been a day I haven’t thanked God for her. That is indeed the Blessing of the Lord!

Copyright © 2013 by Charles L. Johnson
All rights reserved

Used with permission