Reconciling Differences

Cherries Still Life--Photobucket

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge.” Psalm 62:5-7, NIV

The following post is the first my daughter ever wrote for her blog, “My Soul Found Rest.” There is much wisdom to be found here; some we should all take to heart.

Reconciling Differences

I always wanted to have siblings when I was a child. If I could have made a perfect family for myself, I would have added an older sister and brother. Unfortunately for me, my parents were unable to have any more children after me, and the three adoptions we attempted were unsuccessful. I used to dream of having perfect relationships with my imaginary brother and sister; we would never fight and would always be best friends and playmates.

Any of you who have siblings knows that is far removed from reality. Siblings fight, quarrel, and occasionally even break windows! Contrary to my dreams, they don’t always become best friends and often spend little time with each other, especially in today’s hectic lifestyle.

In fact, they aren’t the only ones that don’t get along. Pope Pius II, in his letter to Leonardo di Bentivoglio, complained bitterly of the lack of cooperation between the European countries. If they would only unite, he said, then surely Christians would be able to conquer the Turks and regain the Holy Land. Christians united, after all, are much stronger than Christians quarreling.

I don’t know what effect, if any, his letter had. I do know that the nations of Europe continued in their wars, as always. In fact, the church today is doing exactly what the Renaissance church did; we bicker amongst ourselves and cause many to question not only our devotion to Christ, but also the efficacy of the gospel itself. For if Christians cannot even show love to each other, then how are we supposed to show love to the world?

I believe that Satan takes special delight in causing the Body of Christ to fight within itself. Luke 11:17 says, “Every kingdom divided against itself is laid waste, and a divided household falls.” He knows perfectly well that if we are preoccupied with what is going on within the church, then we will not have the strength or power to fight him and his work. We only play into his hands when we allow petty details to interfere in our relationships with each other. Just as parents counsel siblings to be unselfish and let someone else’s needs come before their own, so the Lord counsels us to do the same. “To have lawsuits at all with one another is already a defeat for you. Why not rather suffer wrong? Why not rather be defrauded? But you yourselves wrong and defraud—even your own brothers!” (1 Corinthians 6:7-8, ESV).

In the Body of Christ, all are our brothers and sisters. Even though our relationships with our biological siblings can be rough at times, we are connected through that bond of blood and make things work as best we can. We must remember that every single Christian is our blood brother or sister through Christ, and we should not be estranged from one another. Just as the Lord gives us grace in our immediate families, He will give us grace with the church. Only when we lay aside our bickering and petty feuds and stand united against evil will we be able to effect and fulfill all that the Lord has called us to do on this earth.

Copyright © 2013 by My Soul Found Rest–Used with permission.