A Man To Honor

My father’s struggle with failing health ended last evening. He now stands in the presence of the Almighty King of the universe, His Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. I have included below the 23rd Psalm, which I read to him as he labored to breathe in his last hours. Please join me in praising God for the life of this man who I honor today; a man whose service to the Lord was always at the forefront of his mind. God could not have blessed me with a more wonderful father. His legacy lives on through his children and grandchildren.

Psalm 23 (NKJV)

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil; for You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever.

Good bye, Father. Good bye, friend. I will see you at sunrise.

Copyright © 2012 by Susan E. Johnson
All rights reserved