Just Like Her Mother

And God said, “Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb yielding seed, and the fruit tree yielding fruit after his kind, whose seed is in itself, upon the earth;” and it was so. And the earth brought forth grass, and herb yielding seed after his kind, and the tree yielding fruit, whose seed was in itself, after his kind; and God saw that it was good. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moveth, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind; and God saw that it was good. And God said, “Let the earth bring forth the living creature after his kind, cattle, and creeping thing, and beast of the earth after his kind;” and it was so. And God made the beast of the earth after his kind, and cattle after their kind, and every thing that creepeth upon the earth after his kind; and God saw that it was good.” Genesis 1:11, 12, 21, 24, 25 (NKJV)

Many women live in mortal dread that they will become just like their mothers. My daughter has said to me on a number of occasions: “Mom, I am becoming just like you!” To which I reply: “Oh honey, I am so sorry!” I am, of course, teasing her, but Hannah becoming just like me does give me pause.

This past weekend my husband, daughter, and I made a last-minute trip to see my father who just made the decision to accept hospice care. The cascading health challenges he has been facing will come to the expected end one of these days. He is at peace with the decision and is saying his “good-byes” to family and friends. God graced him with two good days while we were there.

During one of the conversations with my dad, we talked about the importance of leaving a legacy. His legacy of faith, hard work, honesty, integrity, faithfulness, loyalty, and steadfastness is well represented in his children and grandchildren. He has left something of eternal value in those who carry on his name. His character and value system is “producing after its own kind.”

So, while I am fine with being “just like my mother” (easily recognizable for those who knew her) . . .

I am also content to be “just like my father.”

My daughter, Hannah, carries part of her grandparents and parents, not only in her physical DNA, but also in her moral and spiritual DNA. The heritage that she has been given is already beginning to bear fruit in her life.

Therefore, each of us must be willing to ask ourselves this question:

What kind of “fruit” is being reproduced by the seeds I have planted in my children and grandchildren (or in those around me, if I have none of either)?

This question should give us pause.

So should the answer.

Related Article: “A Tribute” (written by my daughter, Hannah, for her grandfather)

Copyright © 2012 by Susan E. Johnson
All rights reserved