Learning To Walk

Two of my daughter’s friends were recently married and another one of her friends posted the following well-wishes to them on Facebook.  As I read them, I was incredibly impressed with the wisdom in these few short sentences.

Many have bemoaned the condition of the younger generation these days, but I am seeing amazing maturity and promise in the young adults of my daughter’s acquaintance.  Most of her friends were homeschooled as she was and don’t seem to be participating in the elements of popular culture that give so many pause.

These words below give me hope for the future of our country and our culture. The God that my daughter and her friends know, is a God who is living and makes a difference in their lives. They aren’t playing games with “religion”; they are walking in a relationship with Jesus Christ, and others see the visible fruit of that relationship each day.  I hope that you find much encouragement in these words and that they will bless you, as they have blessed me.

“I can’t conceive of marriage, but I imagine it’s something you learn as you walk in it. Life was a bit different when you started walking, wasn’t it? It’s a bit different now, too. But like learning to walk, marriage opens up a new plane of existence. I pray you and Sergei will find yourselves more complete and joyful together than you ever were separately, more desirous of God, and more enabled to go out into the world and kick some serious donkey for the glory of Christ Jesus. So, uh, no laurel resting now. This is only the beginning. Race well, and good luck. Oh, and congratulations, btw. “–Alex Crowson

The righteous shall inherit the land, and dwell in it forever. The mouth of the righteous speaks wisdom, and his tongue talks of justice. The law of his God is in his heart; none of his steps shall slide.” Psalm 37:29-31 (NKJV)

Copyright © 2011 by Susan E. Johnson
All rights reserved