Oh, My Love Has An Eye Of The Softest Blue

This romantic poem is a bit out of the ordinary for me, but while looking up an older poem that was recently reset to new music, I came across this poem and was reminded of a conversation that my husband just had with his cousin.  About the same hour that my father-in-law passed away four days ago, my husband’s cousin became the grandfather of a new baby girl. I was encouraged by God’s blessing of new life. When those that we love leave us for Heaven, God brings new loved-ones into our lives. These babies grow into adults, marry, and have children of their own.  Some day, should God so bless this baby girl, a fine young man will woo her, win her heart , and the cycle of life will continue.

Oh, My Love Has An Eye Of The Softest Blue

by Rev. Charles Wolfeby
(Dublin; 1791-1823)

Oh, my love has an eye of the softest blue,
Yet it was not that that won me;
But a little bright drop from her soul was there,
‘Tis that that has undone me.

I might have pass’d that lovely cheek,
Nor perchance my heart have left me;
But the sensitive blush that came trembling there,
Of my heart if forever bereft me.

I might have forgotten that red, red lip,
Yet how from that thought to sever?
But there was a smile from the sunshine within,
And that smile I’ll remember forever.

Think not ’tis nothing but lifeless clay,
The elegant form that haunts me;
‘Tis the gracefully elegant mind that moves
In every step, that enchants me.

Let me not hear the nightgale sing,
Though I once in its notes delighted;
The feeling and mind that comes whispering forth
Has left me no music beside it.

Who could blame had I loved that face,
Ere my eye could twice explore her;
Yet it is for the fairy intelligence there,
And her warm, warm heart, I adore her.

“Behold, you are fair, my love! Behold you are fair! You have dove’s eyes.” Song of Solomon 1:15 (NKJV)

 [The older poem to which I refer is “Do Not Stand At My Grave And Weap” (Mary Elizabeth Frye–1932) recently set to a new melody by Leah McHenry Smith. Here is the link. It is an incredibly beautiful song: http://www.reverbnation.com/leahmchenry]

Copyright © 2011 by Susan E. Johnson
All rights reserved